Did you guess correctly? The window is attached to the Kenilworth Club, originally named the Kenilworth Assembly Hall, located at 410 Kenilworth Ave. across the street from the Kenilworth Historical Society.
The Kenilworth Club was built in 1907 by George W. Maher, a famed Chicago architect and contemporary of Frank Lloyd Wright. Both men began their careers working for Joseph L. Silsbee, where they learned to develop their own styles of Prairie School Architecture. Maher’s low-slung clubhouse extends out over its site, and uses straight lines and low roof line, character to that style of architecture.
Diamond Motif Rhythm
Maher's personal twist on the building can be seen in his adding a diamond “motif-rhythm”. The diamonds can be seen capping the straight lines throughout the building. The motif is further accentuated in the restored stain glass windows where the diamonds take on greater intricacy to create a flower-like styling.
The main section of the Club contains a large assembly hall with a stage, where members attended meetings and performances of various styles.
The west wing originally contained a library and kitchen. In 1913, the west wing was remodeled to create more useable space for the Club’s growing needs. The library was turned into a reception space while the kitchen remained intact. More renovations were done in 1914, when an addition was attached to the south end of the building. The addition provided a service space and canopied drive-up entrance.
One of the most iconic historical features of the Kenilworth Club was the original Kenilworth Avenue entrance, which featured a pergola with an Elm tree growing through the center and out the top.