Wilmette Spring Elections to be Hotly Contested

Four of Wilmette's elections set for spring 2013 will be contested races.

Wilmette residents, brace yourself - it's looking like the April 9 local elections may be hotly contested, with four of the races being contested ones.

The deadline for filing for local elections was December 26 at 5 p.m.

We have 5 open Board Member seats. We have 4 four-year terms and 1 two year term (replacing a Board member that moved out of District, mid-term). All 5 incumbents are running again and all 5 open seats are uncontested.

The Chicago Tribune reported that the following people have filed to run. Incumbant candidates are noted with an "(i)".

•Village — President: Mike Basil and Bob Bielinski; Trustee (three seats): Carol Ducommun, Cameron Krueger (i) and Ted McKenna (i).

• School District 39 (four seats) — Jasmine Hauser, Kimberly W. Alcantara (i), John M. Flanagin (i), Mark Steen and Cynthia Levine (i).

• Avoca District 37 — 2-year term (1 seat): Sheryl Swibel; 4-year term (4 seats): Sheryl Swibel(2 year term), Bill Bazianos, Jeffrey Greengoss, Rosanne Ullman, Rick Zelinsky.

• Park District — 4-year term (three seats): John Olvany (i), Darrell Graham (i), Amy Wolfe, Bryan Abbott; 2-year term (one seat): James Brault (i).

• Library (three seats) — Arthur Haut, Ronald Rodgers (i), Michael Levitan (i) and Stuart Wolf.

Never miss a thing in Wilmette and Kenilworth - make sure to 'like' Patch on Facebook and sign up for our free daily newsletter here!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »